On beliefs…


I was at work with some of my favorite people after getting the “you have cancer call.” Two of the first responses I received were really interesting. One I may have said to someone else if the roles were reversed. Very uncomfortable things to hear directed at me though. I am grateful for the statements because they really prompted me to examine what I believe.

Here they are…

-“Jenn, maybe God is trying to tell you something.”
-“Baby, He wouldn’t bring you to it if He couldn’t bring you through it.”

What are the other sayings you can think of that tie faith to suffering? 

One of my “favorites” is this… “God would never give you more than you can handle.” I’ve used that one before. I’ve thought it before. But now I no longer believe it.

I believe God loves me. I remain a very spiritual person and have a keen awareness of God in my life and how I am to be guided by him. BUT I DO NOT BELIEVE GOD wills suffering or somehow dishes it out in proportions based on how strong people are and what they can handle. 

Pain and suffering are conditions of our HUMANITY. The ability to GET UP and GET GOING and get through things are gifts of the DIVINITY in each of us.

I’m glad my friends shared their comments with me. They prompted me get my spiritual head on straight. I was holding on TIGHT to the “God wouldn’t give us more than we could handle thing” while in the early stages of figuring out what this lump really was.

I figured I was home free because GOD wouldn’t give my mom any more “crap” in her life. Two years ago she lost the love of her life in a tragic accident, last year my twin sister was diagnosed with cancer. SURELY, that would mean I was home free – because SHE didn’t need another thing to worry about. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg with my mom. She’s the strongest person I know. (BAAAAH… wait… but that DOESN’T mean she needs anything else go wrong in her life).

So anyway, that’s my lesson. God doesn’t will suffering or pain. However, just as He’s guided all my steps to up until now, we’re walking together in Divinity to get through this condition of my HUMANITY. Which God understands all too well…

Good blog post for Resurrection Sunday if I don’t say so myself. LOL.

4 thoughts on “On beliefs…

  1. Love this sentiment and never heard it expressed so well: “Pain and suffering are conditions of our HUMANITY. The ability to GET UP and GET GOING and get through things are gifts of the DIVINITY in each of us.” My own version is “it doesn’t matter how many times you get knocked down, but how many times you get up!” Happy Easter!

  2. Jenn, you are the perfect example of why Mother Church should allow women and the marrieds up on the Alter to say the magic words. You know God as well as anyone I have ever met. And you know your (and our) Humanity too. So to your post, Amen.

  3. That’s a pretty awesome thought. I am still trying to sort through everything and all the cliches… Sometimes it’s like hearing Job’s friends! I will definitely be contemplating your words about humanity vs Divinity.

Leave a Reply

